BBC will Live Stream Rio 2016 Olympics in VR

It is great news for all the viewers of Olympic as BBC has told that it will broadcast the Rio 2016 Olympics via the new VR App. The Olympic fans in the United Kingdom will be able to watch some parts of the Rio 2016 Olympic Games in VR by using the full 360 degree video. This is a fantastic piece of information for all those people for whom Olympic is more than just a sport.

Rio 2016 Olympics VR Live Stream Schedule (UK times)

  • Friday 5 August: 00:00-03:30 – Opening Ceremony
  • Saturday 6 August: 14:00-17:50, 19:30-20:20, 01:00-04:50 – Beach Volleyball
  • Sunday 7 August: 14:00-17:50, 19:30-20:20, 01:00-04:50 – Beach Volleyball
  • Monday 8 August: 15:00-18:00, 21:00-00:00 – Boxing
  • Tuesday 9 August: 15:00-18:00, 21:00-00:00 – Boxing
  • Wednesday 10 August 10: 20:00-22:45 – Artistic Gymnastics
  • Thursday 11 August: 20:00-22:10 – Artistic Gymnastics
  • Friday 12 August: 13:00-19:30, 21:00-23:50 – Fencing
  • Saturday 13 August: 13:30-16:50 & 00:00-03:15 – Athletics
  • Sunday 14 August: 00:20-02:30 – Athletics
  • Monday 15 August: 13:30-16:10 & 00:15-02:50 – Athletics
  • Tuesday 16 August: 13:30-16:40 & 00:15-02:50 – Athletics
  • Wednesday 17 August: 02:00-05:05 – Beach Volleyball
  • Thursday 18 August: 02:00-05:05 – Beach Volleyball
  • Friday 19 August: 19:30-21:30 – Basketball (Men’s SFs)
  • Saturday 20 August: 15:00-16:50 & 19:30-22:00 – Diving
  • Sunday 21 August: 15:30-17:30 & 19:45-22:05 – Basketball (Men’s Finals)
  • Monday 22 August: 00:00-03:30 – Closing Ceremony

The broadcasting of Rio 2016 Olympics is considered to be a great experiment by BBC which will cover around 100 hours of this prestigious game. This great initiative by BBC would cover some of the key events which include boxing, beach volley ball and athletics. This service would include live footage of one event in one day besides the broadcast from four camera angles at the same point. This would also include the daily highlight package. You can enjoy this service of BBC by using Gear VR headset from Samsung or you can even use any mobile based installation.

Rio 2016 Olympics VR Live Stream

What all do you need to enjoy the broadcasting of Rio 2016 Olympics in 360 degree VR

If you want to watch the Rio 2016 Olympics through the VR live Stream you need to download the BBC sports 360 trial App. This application would be available today for download for the Android and iOS users. BBC has also made the coverage available for desktop users through BBC Taster.

Although this broadcast by BBC is incredible but it is not capable of making the optimum use of people wearing the VR headsets due to which it would be limited to the 360 degree vision. For viewers who are not wearing the VR headsets the BBC has 24 live HD streams in a day besides the number of digital exclusives and catch-up services.

The broadcasting of Rio 2016 Olympics in 360 degree VR live stream by BBC is a marvellous step in the field of computer and technology.

 

JOIN OUR NEWSLETTER
I agree to have my personal information transfered to MailChimp ( more information )
Join visitors who are receiving our newsletter containing latest VR news, updates, games and movies.
We hate spam. Your email address will not be sold or shared with anyone else.

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

Leave a reply

VR headsets 3D